Subscriber only lesson.
Sign up to this course to view this lesson.
When to use
Work Chat allows you to chat with others—either individuals or groups. You can also share individual Notes and entire Notebooks using Work Chat.
You can access Work Chat area by clicking the Work Chat button in the left bottom corner of the Sidebar.
The middle pane displays the list of your chats—with individual Evernote users or groups. At the very top you’ll see a + New Chat icon to start a new chat. Right next to it is a search bar that allows you to search for contacts or messages.
The right hand side of the screen displays messages of the selected chats. At the very top of this area you’ll see the name(s) of the people you are chatting with. If you click on the little arrow next to their names, you’ll see an option to start a group chat. The person(s) you are already chatting with will be automatically be added as participants of the new group chat.
Once you start exchanging Notes with someone, in the upper right hand corner of the screen you will see a little icon with the number of the Notes you’ve exchanged. Clicking on the icon will open a drop down menu with the titles of those Notes with live links to each one of them.
As mentioned, you can also start a chat by clicking + New Chat icon directly in the Work Chat area or the same icon on the Toolbar (if you dragged that icon onto your Toolbar).
A new chat window will also open every time to share a Note or Notebook.
If you are not sure if the person you want to send a Work Chat to uses Evernote or not OR you don’t know the email address that person uses to log into their Evernote, you can still send them a Work Chat. Start the Work Chat as you normally would and enter the email address of that person you have for them. Once you’ve done that, the person you sent a Work Chat to will receive an email notifying them about the chat from you. They will then have an option to log into their Evernote to read the chat (if they have an account with Evernote) or sign up for a free Evernote account, if they don’t.
Lesson notes are only available for subscribers.