This course has been retired and is no longer supported.
About this lesson
A great feature of Teams is the ability to have multiple people working on the same document at the same time. Also, you'll learn how to restore a previous version of a document as well as check-out documents so others can't edit them. This lesson shows you to work with documents in Teams with ease.
Download this lesson’s related exercise files.Co-Authoring Documents in Real Time - Single Tenant.docx.docx
40.8 KB Co-Authoring Documents in Real Time - Single Tenant - Solution.docx.docx
Co-Authoring Documents in Real-Time
Allowing multiple users to edit a document in real-time is one of the most popular features of Teams.
When to use
Co-authoring scenarios happen naturally as multiple Team members collaborate on a document. A popular use of co-authoring is to share a document in a Teams online meeting. The multiple attendees can open the document while it's being shown in the meeting and the entire team can collaborate on changes while viewing them in real-time.
Co-authoring only happens when multiple people use the document at the same time. When this occurs, you can see who is editing the document, where they are working, and their edits. As documents are saved automatically, you do not have multiple copies of the same document, each with different names. The online and installed versions of Office will automatically merge the changes when they are in different parts of the document, otherwise, if two people change, say, a Chapter title, the most recent edit is what is shown. You can use the Synch option to copy Teams files to your local PC. You can then edit the files offline and they will be uploaded when you return online. If two people edit the same file, you will be alerted to the conflict and allowed to resolve the differences. You can check a document out to prevent changes and also restore previous versions of document should that be necessary.
Hints & tips
- Document versioning is a great feature and happens automatically. Be sure to become familiar with this feature as it commonly used in Teams.
- In practice, checking-out a document should be used sparingly. Should you fail to check the document back in and are away, only an administrator can override your check-out.
Lesson notes are only available for subscribers.